Tamara Charron

Name: Tamara Charron
Birth Date: 06/08/1982
Birth Place: Providence, RI
Current Residence: Norwich, CT
Height & Weight: 5’4″, 125 lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
I have been working with a personal trainer for over three years, always imagining that one day I would do a competition, but I wasn’t sure where to begin. For some time I have wanted to take my workouts to the next level, to have a specific goal that I could strive for, to challenge myself.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I read a lot of fitness magazines. I am also inspired by some of the other women at my gym. They inspire in me a feeling of healthy competition. If I see someone really working hard, or I notice the progress that a woman has made, it reminds me of what I could be doing better or more of.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
This is my first show. I am not yet sure whether I will pursue other shows in the future. That will be determined by what I feel to be my overall experience training and appearing in this one, which is yet to be determined. I may choose to pursue something entirely different, such as a half marathon and/or a crossfit-style workout. I greatly admire the athletes in the Crossfit Games.

4. Who got you started?
I am self-motivated. I have been going to the gym off-and-on for the last 15+ years, and I found that when I looked muscular, it gave me a lot of confidence. I think that a strong woman is very sexy, and I feel better than ever about my body.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
I talk to everyone that will listen about my workouts and the upcoming competition–other managers and employees where I work, friends and family, my significant other. I hope that by verbalizing certain things to a lot of people, this will keep me accountable. It also nice to get some encouragement along the way.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I go to Work Out World in Norwich, CT, where I have been going for about 5 years. I also work out at home, with my elliptical, stability ball and free weights. I try to get a second workout in when I can.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I love BSN’s Syntha 6 (strawberry milkshake) because it tastes great, but right now I am not allowed Whey Protein, so I have to stick to soy, egg and plant-based. The best one I have found is LifeScience Life’s Basics Plant Protein (hemp, pea and chia seeds). It is so good for you and has no sugar and very little fat and carbs.

I also take GNC Ultra Mega Green multi-vitamin and BCAAs.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
My abs are so much more defined than ever before, especially the obliques.
My arms and shoulders are also much more shapely.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
Yes. I used to live a much less healthy lifestyle. I was a smoker for many years, for instance. I quit because I knew that to continue would limit my potential for growth and improvement. Then I started running, just because it was something I always hated.

I think that physical fitness and exercise also contribute to a more positive mindset.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
I definitely want to run a half marathon in the spring, and certainly a full marathon when I feel that I am ready. I would also like these to be destination runs, because I love to travel.

11. Describe your diet.
I have been a lacto-ovo vegetarian for 18 years. Since I am not allowed dairy at this time, I eat a lot of egg whites, veggie burgers, beans and lentils, whole grains like quinoa and steel-cut oats, nuts and nut butters. I also eat a lot of vegetables, such as broccoli, leafy greens, Brussels sprouts, mushrooms, peppers, cucumbers, etc. I try to drink a lot of water and sugar-free beverages, such as PowerAde Zero and Vitamin Water Zero.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
I workout every day, first thing after I get up and have my breakfast (if applicable). I have two cardio-only days, and 5 days focusing on a specific muscle group (Biceps/Triceps, Legs, Chest/Shoulders, Back, Legs-Plyometrics). My workouts take between 1 and 2 hours, usually about 1.5 hours. They are always very challenging.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a restaurant General Manager. My responsibilities include: scheduling, payroll, labor forecasting, invoicing, as well as supervising staff and relating to customers. It is a very physically-demanding job, and also requires a lot of hours.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
I love to study languages. I am fluent in Spanish, but would like to really prefect that skill, as well as study other languages (Italian, Brazilian Portuguese, etc.). I love to travel and would like the opportunity to see as many parts of the world as possible.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
Only running. I was not athletic when I was in school.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I would like to thank my significant other, Calvin, for supporting and encouraging me.
I would like to thank my mother and brothers, as well as to say that I am sorry my father was not able to see what I have accomplished, but I know he would have been proud of me.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I love to listen to music and to see live shows. I also enjoy making wine and touring wineries and breweries. I love to eat, and I try as many restaurants as I can, no matter where I am.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
My work schedule does not leave me a lot of extra time, and can also be very stressful. I struggle to stay organized and to fit everything in, including adequate sleep and healthy meals.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
As I mentioned, I was never an athletic person. I did not grow up playing sports. We also did not have a lot of money. As an adult, I work very hard to be able to afford the things that I enjoy.
Finally, I did not always feel confident. I was shy and self-conscious and did not feel good about my body.