Stina Leigh

Name: Stina Leigh
Birth Date: 03/10/1983
Birth Place: Providence, RI
Current Residence: Seekonk, MA
Height & Weight: 5’7″ & 130

1. What made you want to compete?
I have competed in the past, and I just knew I had to be back on that stage this year! I love every minute of competition!

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I am a huge Instagram fan, and I follow predominantly fitness and nutrition pages. All I need to do is browse a few photos of amazingly fit bodies- and poof- 120% inspired! Either fit females or males, to see the strength and dedication of a person just through a photograph, is just the right amount of inspiration to keep me striving to do my best through each day.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
I competed in the WBFF Fitness Atlantic in April 2011 and hope to compete in April 2014 again!

4. Who got you started?
Al Thurston is who started my passion in fitness and nutrition. He put me through an enormous life transformation and I have never looked back. We are still great friends and I visit him down in FL as much as I can! Far more than just a great trainer- a great friend!

5. Who do you look to for help now?
For fitness and nutrition I look to Dave Fanelli, who was trained by Al Thurston, and made me feel like I was “home” again. For stage coaching I work with Nicole Costa of Body Rock! She has got some amazing sass and class, and has always taught me how to BRING IT!

6. Where do you usually workout?
Work Out World in East Providence is my second home!

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I am in love with Shredz! There Alpha Female Stack and Pre-Workout have worked better for me than any other product out there! #teamshredz #shredzarmy

8. What are your most noticeable results?
This time around, I am noticing most results in my abs and legs- and my endurance is through the roof!

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
110%- Not only am I happier and more energetic on a daily basis, but I find my drive for always wanting to do better and grow has spread into all aspects of my life. A clean and fit mind equals a clean and fit life!

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
Placing well in a show is a definite goal for myself, but my ideal goal would be to become a sponsored athlete and travel the nation inspiring others on their own fitness journey.

11. Describe your diet.
My diet is usually as follows:
Meal 1- 4 egg whites and 1/2 cup organic oats. I like to mix and add cocoa powder and sugar free syrup for taste.
Meal 2: Intek Evolution Protein shake with water
Meal 3: Large Salad with 5 oz grilled chicken and balsamic vinegar
Meal 4: Intek Evolution Protein shake with water
Meal 5: 2 cups green veg and 5-6 oz white fish seasoned with Mrs Dash.

When not training for a competition: I switch Meal 3 & 5 proteins between tuna, 99% fat free ground turkey, organic veggie burgers, flank steak, cottage cheese, or almonds. I like to switch up Meal 2 as well and have 2 salt free rice cakes with 1 tbsp Nuts and More Almond or Peanut butter! The best Almond and Peanut Butter brand out there!

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
6 days of cardio.
Monday: Chest/Back and Abs
Tues: Various leg workouts
Wed: Bis/ Tris/Abs
Thurs: Various lef workouts
Fri: Distance run
Sat: Cardio
Sunday: Off

13. What do you do for a living?
I really am a jack of all trades. I am a full time Interior Designer out of East Greenwich and Providence, RI during the day and I work as a model and cheerleader at night. I also help close friends and family members attain there fitness and weight goals. I really enjoy that, and I am now looking to become a certified personal trainer very soon.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
To run my own commercial Interior Design firm in a top city by the time I am 35 and have my work published in Architectural Digest- more than once. I would also like to be nominated for Boston Society of Architects Top 30 Under 35 Designer of the Year Award in the coming few years.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I was an active year round soccer player for 13 years. Sports was always a strong part of my childhood and into college. Once I completed my soccer career in college, I had a change of heart. I have since been a competitive dancer and cheerleader as well.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
A huge thank you to my parents and brother. Without there love and support nothing like this would ever be possible. Ever. To my best friend Kaethe, who is a sister more than anything else, you’ve been by my side every step of the way since my very first competition and I love you for that! To Dave Fanelli, for digging out my Stinalicious-ness and love for fitness after a 2 year hiatus. Who knew I had it in me- and pushed me every week to be better and better- For that I am ever grateful. To every single friend that has maybe not understood my journey to this show, but have supported me non the less. Thank you. To everyone that has made this journey that much easier and exciting for me- Thank you. I love ya!

17. Do you have any hobbies?
Aside from working out, which I really do enjoy- I like to try healthy new recipes and explore new trails. I am obsessed with obstacle course races, and do about 3-6 a year.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
My work schedule hands down! I work approx 50 hours a week in the fall and winter, and upwards to 65+ per week in the spring and summer. Training for this show I worked 10-12 hour days and still managed 2 workouts a day. Anything is possible if you put your mind to it! 🙂

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
The largest obstacle has been finagling my work schedule every week to fit in all of my workouts and make sure I have time for sleep at the end of the day!

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
Fitness and nutrition are my life. I love it! I see this show as just the beginning of a long journey- not the end. My life has just begun!