Stacey Genovesi

Birth Date: 10/06/1983

1. What made you want to compete?
One simple quote…Life begins at the end of your comfort zone! And what better way to do that then step on stage with Cinderella heels, and a flashy bikini!

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I stay inspired by helping others achieve their fitness goals. Seeing the look in my clients eyes when I know I’ve helped them change their lives for the better. People ask me all the time for advice, and it makes me feel good knowing that they feel that out of anyone I could be the one to help them . A couple people that are big inspirations to me, Kevin Topka my trainer for the past couple years, and my CrossFit Coach Kevin Foley! They both make sure my body never goes a day without being sore!

4. Who got you started?
My trainer, Kevin Topka, helped me get started on the path of fitness competitions the right way! I had bounced between a couple others, but Kevin has put me in the right direction, and I highly recommend him for anyone interested in taking their training to the next level.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
I go to my trainer, Kevin Topka, of Body Language Spoken in Seekonk MA for nutrition/training. I also have Kevin Foley help with a mix up of training with CrossFit with compound movements and endurance.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I work out at Golds Gym in Norton MA, CrossFit Home Base in Canton MA. I also train once a week at Body Language Spoken in Seekonk MA.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I use MRM 100% All Natural Whey Protein, Glutamine, Taurine, BCAA, Multi Vitamin, and Fish Oil.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
Physically I’ve gotten leaner earlier in this show prep this go around. My shoulders have gained good size, and my glutes have definitely lifted over the past few months. Mentally, I have so much more energy, and I feel so much better about my body then I had.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
It most definitely has! I had an eating disorder when I was younger, so I have always been one to struggle with my weight. I went from being an overweight pre teen, to an anorexic stage in high school, and back and forth throughout college. With that, I will always have issues when it comes to eating I think. But I made it to work in my favor, I become certified as personal trainer/nutritionist and payed it forward to others so they wouldn’t question on what they needed to do, or lead them in the right direction for nutrition. I have spoken at conventions, and seminars about eating disorders/fitness/nutrition, and my journey, and how I overcame it. Anyway I can help even one person, makes my job even more worth it!

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
My fitness goals are to earn my pro card with the WBFF organization, and to add lean muscle over the next year, to bring a better package in the future!

11. Describe your diet.
Oh the fun part! Honestly its not too bad. I eat 5 times a day, and have a post workout shake on the days I workout. A simple throw down of what a day of eating looks like for me:
Meal 1: Oatmeal with Protein Powder (I have to have my oatmeal it gets my day going on a good note, and that’s the dry oats, not the sugary packets!)
Meal 2: Ground Chicken Chumbali I throw together stuffed in a Green Pepper and some Sweet Potato
Meal 3: Salad with Chicken and Green Veggies on it
Meal 4: Frozen Blueberries and a Scoop of protein powder (s good!)
Pre Workout: BCAA and Taurine
Post Workout: Protein Shake
Meal 5: White Fish over brown rice and some veggies.
I basically am allowed 4 carbs a day and 5 proteins and 3-4 cups of veggies. Lots of food, and keeps me satisfied for now! lol

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
I work 1-2 body parts a day usually takes about an hour and a half. On Fridays and some Saturdays I go to CrossFit to give it a little switch up. For cardio, I do 3 hours a week. I like mixing it up with hill sprints, the stair master, or bike. I workout 6 days a week and normally take off Sundays or Thursdays.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a Analyst for United Natural Foods Inc. (UNFI) its weird, I don’t work for them, I work for Acosta, but was hired by them to help them out, so I guess you can say I work for two companies but get paid by one! I also am a personal trainer a couple nights a week.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
Easy…to succeed and be happy with the life I live. And right now I am doing a pretty darn good job with that in my opinion! (:

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I was what they call a “Tom Boy” when I was younger. Involved in all sports, wasn’t into the girlie life. Between softball, soccer, volleyball, field hockey, it kept me busy. Now I enjoy “staying clean” as I like to say with my sports. So competing and CrossFit are my way to go!

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I would like to thank my family and friends for putting up with me! My parents especially, the mood swings, hungry horrors, the arguments over “you’re doing too much” and just being a plain biatch at points, but yet they still support me 100% and stand beside me till the end. Also once again my trainer/nutritionist Kevin Topka at Body Language Spoken, Coach Kevin Foley at CrossFit Home Base Thank you all for your constant support & encouragement!

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I LOVE to cook, road trip to new destinations, anything to live on the edge of life (bungee jump and sky dive are on my bucket list!) outdoor activities (hiking is one of my favorite) and I am a girl, come on I love to shop!

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
The only thing that becomes a challenge is my day job and when I travel if I have to. At my job I have TONS of food samples that lay around the office and easy oh lets try this, and people who know me know that I LOVE FOOD! So having all of this around can become quite an obstacle to get by! With traveling leads to, what am I going to eat! Luckily I do have my six pack bag, and am able to stuff that with food, and freeze my foods and bring them with me. I make due to what I can for working out while I am away, if there isn’t a gym around. My family and friends are used to me bringing foods I can eat to cookouts and gatherings, so they are quite supportive when it comes to that! The coffee shop down the street from my work even has my own special drink made just to accommodate my diet, I love it!

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
As I had mentioned before my eating disorder put a halt on my life for a bit till I got that figured out. Other then that no broken bones, or bad sprains, one healthy chick right here!

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
Yeahhhhhhh buddy! Haha sorry just something a group of us have grown to say!