Sarah Brockner

Name: Sarah Brockner
Birth Date: 08/06/1982
Birth Place: NY
Current Residence: Syracuse, NY
Height & Weight: 5’4″ 113lb

1. What made you want to compete?
I have always loved fitness and sports and was inspired by seeing the Fitness America pageant on television.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I look towards my many fitness inspirations such as Fleur De Kine, Frank Budelewski, Sharon Polsky, and Jen Jewell just to name a few. They are such inspiring people and their hard work makes me motivated to also work hard. Music, awesome, supportive friends and family, and simply feeling good also keep me in the gym and eating right.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
I have been competitng for a few years now and have won several titles. I placed 5th place in Bikini Diva last year at the 2011 WBFF New England and I plan to move up the ranks this year. I am not sure what I will do after that because my main focus is on finishing the year strong.

4. Who got you started?
I started competing because I wanted an extreme challenge that would force me to focus and keep me motivated. I have always admired the competitors in the magazines so I wanted to try it out too.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
I rely a lot on my family (my husband in particular) and my friends. I also get a lot of great advice from some amazing WBFF athletes I mentioned above. I lean on my faith when I am needing extra support too.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I typically workout at the gym. I have been battling a herniated disc and a hip issue resulting from nerve damage so it is easiest to stay within my limitations in the gym since there are more options for equipment I can actually use.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I love protein powder because of it’s versatility. I also love nitric oxide as a pre workout supplement. I really like Dymatize, Syntrax, and BSN products but I am always looking for new flavors too.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
My most noticeable results are abs. I was told some girls just cannot get that definaition but I proved that wrong!

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
It has because I have gained so much more confidence and met some of the greatest, kindest people I know.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
My main goal is to get my WBFF pro card and just continue to be the best me I can be in a healthy, positive way.

11. Describe your diet.
My diet is generally high protein, lower carbohydrate, and moderate calories along with a ton of water. I like to eat mini meals every 2-4 hours too. It’s important for me to plan in meals (mostly on the weekends) where I can eat less restrictive (within reason) so that I feel like I have some balance. Plus it makes it easier to stay on track with my other meals.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
Generally I do cardio 6 times a week anywhere from 45 minutes to 1.5 hours per day depending on what I have coming up. I typically do 2 days of strength training for upper body and 2 days for lower body each week with some abdominal and core work every other day. I am limited in some aspects because of my injury but my doctor and I have been creative with my workouts so I can reach my goals and get the results I want.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a promo model. I love meeting new people and making people smile so it goes well with my personality.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
I want to own my own boutique style gym where I can really help people one on one. I also want to travel as much as possible and impact people in a positive way. Pretty general but I am open to all the ways I can achieve these things.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
In high school I played field hockey and ran track. I also ran cross country in college.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
Thanks to my amazing family and friends for their support. A big thank you to my fitness mentors and friends who have helped me along the way.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I love to cook-especially healthy but tasty treats and meals.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
My current injury is my biggest obstacle but I am not letting that stop me!

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
I have overcome some negative people in my life, some confidence issues, and a life altering attack that made me question what is important in life. I have come a long way and I contiinue to grow every single day.

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
I appreciate all the promotion the WBFF does for competitors. Thank you for allowing me to share a little bit about myself.