Kendyl Seawright

Name: Kendyl Seawright
Birth Date: 04/09/1987
Birth Place: New Jersey
Current Residence: Austin, Texas
Height & Weight: 5’4″ 125lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
I needed a new outlet for my competitive drive. I have been an athlete my entire life and ran cross country and track in college. When I was finished with my last season, I suffered a strange hip injury and I ended up in physical therapy for two years. I decided to get myself in the weight room and a woman at my gym convinced me to compete. After I had done a little bit of research, I knew that this was something I was meant to do.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I look at pictures of myself from when I was in physical therapy. I let my athletic body slip away and by seeing that it makes me push hard to stay focused and achieve my goals.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
My first show was the 2013 Worlds and I absolutely loved it! My next one is the New England Championships and then we will see where I need to be for 2014.

4. Who got you started?
A random woman at the gym put the competition bug in my ear and I haven’t looked back since.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
Anyone I can possibly find! I love talking to other competitors and coaches and just get a well rounded sense of how people are going about their fitness goals. This industry is constantly changing, so there is always something new that you can learn.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I mainly workout at Gym One in North Austin or Golds Gym in South Austin.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I use SFH whey protein and recovery protein, Glutaplex Glutamine, Amino Core BCAAs, and MNC pre workout.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
I have started to see gains in my shoulders and my back has developed well.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
Fitness has always been apart of my life, but I got out of touch with it for awhile due to injury. Being in the weight room more aggressively has definitely boosted my fitness morale and I feel more like an athlete and almost even better than what I was during college.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
I would like to continue to build my physique, get more involved in the fitness business and just see how far I can go in this sport. I just want to do my best and inspire others to be their best.

11. Describe your diet.
My diet is typically a 40/40/20 split but I’m not super obsessive about hitting the numbers dead on. I have noticed that my body responds very well to carbohydrates so I do not lower them past 1g per pound of my body weight. I keep a very well rounded but clean diet and I do not cut out major food groups. I will limit sugar and cut out alcohol completely during prep.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
I train six days a week, sometimes five if I feel like I need an extra day.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a middle school PE teacher and basketball/ track coach.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
I would like to travel more.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I was a ballet, jazz, and tap dancer for ten years, played soccer, basketball and ran track for twelve years. In college I continued to run cross country and track for all four years.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I would like to thank all of my friends and family that have motivated me to keep at it and stay positive with all challenges that I take on. I would also like to thank all of the coaches that have helped shaped the type of athlete that I am today.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I absolutely love to watch movies and I love walking around museums; especially in Washington D.C.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
My biggest challenge is myself. I like to hold really high standards because as athlete coaches always demanded my best. I have come to demand nothing but my best from myself and sometimes I can push myself too hard because of it.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
My biggest obstacles are just being patient and staying positive. I don’t always give myself credit for the progress. I have made because to me it isn’t quite enough just yet. I have learned that I need to enjoy the smaller moments more often.