Kayla Davis

Name: Kayla Davis
Birth Date: 02/26/1988
Birth Place: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Current Residence: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Height & Weight: 5’3″ 3/4 125 lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
After watching my first bodybuilding competition in 2011, I was inspired to compete. I was working at a gym in Halifax, Nova Scotia at the time and had an amazing support system surrounding me to achieve it. I set a goal for myself that night to compete in that competition the following year, and I did!

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
To stay inspired I look at my own progress from when I started my prep. The more I progress, the more motivated I become. I also will look up to my fitness idols to stay inspired. If they can achieve the beautiful physiques they have, than I can as well!

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
My first competition was in 2012, in Halifax Nova Scotia (NSABBA). I originally was going to compete in Fitness because of my gymnastics background, but because of a back injury, I had to make a change and chose to compete in Bikini. A month after this competition, I competed in Mississauga, Ontario in the OPA at the Luchka O’brien Classic. Based on the results at this competition, I qualified for the Ontario provincials at the Toronto Pro Super Show.

This year, I decided to compete with the WBFF for the first time in Rhode Island. I want to continue competing with the WBFF in the future. I love the femininity of the competitors and the fashion aspect as well.

4. Who got you started?
I knew nothing about the fitness industry (bodybuilding) until I went to watch my first show. My boss at the gym I worked at while in University, took all the staff to the NSABBA show in Halifax. This was my starting point. When I was first inspired and decided right away, that I wanted to compete the following year. I still thank him to this day for taking me to that show and sparking my passion for fitness.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
My coach for this show, George Chiappa has helped me in every aspect of this prep. With my training programs, rehab with any injuries and my diet. I always look for help from my old boss Sean Alexander, who has always been a huge support and motivator for me. Whenever I feel like I am in need of some motivation, I will think about my idols, which always keeps me focused. Lastly, family and friends who have been there for me throughout all my competition preparations and always there to give me feedback and motivation.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I workout at the Center for Strength and Athletic Development (CSAD) in Ottawa, Ontario.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
Supplements I take include:
Fish oil
Multivitamin (AOR)
Probiotic (Charles Poliquin)
CLA
Caffeine
Digestive support (Charles Poliquin)
BCAA’s
Gold Standard Protein (whey and casein)

8. What are your most noticeable results?
I believe that my legs are my most noticeable results, hamstrings and quadriceps. I love training legs and I constantly strive to improve them.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
Without a doubt, fitness has changed my life. The first ever weight training program I did, came from a Fitness RX magazine. It was a 12 week program by Chady Dunmore. After I completed that program, I was hooked. I always felt that I was missing something since stopping gymnastics, I needed a physical and mental challenge in my life again and weight training was just that. I began working in a gym while in my final year of University of my Kinesiology degree. Working at this gym in Halifax, introduced me to bodybuilding and fitness competitions. I became a certified personal trainer and I am currently completing a sports nutrition certification. Now, I am working at two gyms where I have the opportunity to share my knowledge ad passion of training and nutrition everyday.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
My personal fitness goals are to improve on my physique compared to my last show. I have specific body parts that I have set goals to improve on.

Within the next 6 months I strive to build my own personal training business in a gym as well as online.

I always want to gain knowledge on training principles and nutrition, and I plan to get Charles Poliquin certifications over the next year.

11. Describe your diet.
My diet is mostly organic and inspired by Charles Poliquin diet principles. If it grows on a farm, I can eat it. It consists of lean protein, healthy fats and fibrous carbohydrates. Everyday I eat 4-5 smaller meals each consisting of protein and fat, and some consisting of carbohydrates. I drink approximately 3-4 litres of water a day. I will always have a protein shake after I workout and either in the morning or before bed.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
My prep, consisted of 4-5 training day cycles. My workouts are all inspired by Charles Poliquin training principles. I typically train 2 lower body days and 2-3 upper body days. For instance, I would have a 5 day training cycle, where I would train Chest/Back, Legs, Rest Day, Shoulders/arms, Legs (Repeat). That cycle would be repeated until I had completed the program 6 times. Usually lasting about a month, then a new program would start (ie. new exercises, different set and reps).

My rest day is always active, I would usually ensure to do cardio on these days. I believe in high intensity interval training (HIIT) for cardio, my favorite being sprint intervals (8 second sprint, 12 second rest). Closer to the competition date, I increase my cardio and include some steady state cardio as well.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a personal trainer, and a front desk manager. I am currently completing a nutrition coaching certification which will go hand in hand with my personal training.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
One of my non-fitness goals is to travel. This past year, I travelled to Australia, where I worked and travelled the country for almost a year. During that time I got to travel to a few other incredible countries including New Zealand and Thailand. One of the reasons I thought competing with the WBFF would a great choice for me was because it is international. I could travel and see the world, all while being able to accomplish my fitness goals at the same time.

Since being back home in Ottawa, I have goals to start up my own personal training and nutrition coaching business.

It is hard to have completely non-fitness related goals because my whole life, from when I was in gymnastics, to when I attended University, to my career now is related directly to fitness.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I was a competitive gymnast from a young age, until I began University at the age of 19. I trained 20-25 hours a week and competed approximately 4-5 times a year. Gymnastics taught me so many life lessons that have been carried with me through all aspects of my life. From a young age, I learnt about discipline, dedication and commitment. I am forever grateful for my gymnastics background because it has developed me into the person I am today.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I am so fortunate to have the incredible support system I do. Firstly, I would like to thank my family for their continued and generous support during my prep. My boyfriend Craig for all his help and motivation throughout this prep. My friends In Ottawa and Halifax for pushing me and helping me stay focused. Last but not least, my coach and motivator, George Chiappa.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I have a large family and friend base in Ottawa and Halifax. I enjoy spending quality time with them, whenever I can.
Nutrition is a passion of mine and I am constantly looking for healthy recipes to try and share with friends and family.
An obvious hobby of mine, is the gym. I love switching up my training sessions by training with friends, clients or by myself.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
I don’t believe there is any challenge in my life that would obstruct me from reaching my goals. There will be bumps in the road along the way, however, staying focused and keeping a positive mentality will always surpass any challenge.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
Everyday there are small obstacles to overcome to reach my goal and get to where I am today. However, I am fully committed to my fitness goals, and I believe no obstacle cant be overcome. I have had some physical obstacles (minor injuries) during my prep, but I learnt to work around them and make best of the situation. Mental obstacles, are common as well, whether it be stress related, or having a down day. Obstacles come up frequently but keeping a strong, positive mind set always helps me overcome them. I believe everything happens for a reason, so whatever life throws at me, I will continue pushing and search for that reason and the good in the situation.