Kaitlyn Norwood

Name: Kaitlyn Norwood
Birth Date: 10/05/1986
Birth Place: Stoughton, MA
Current Residence: Brockton, MA
Height & Weight: 5’4″ 130lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
I’ve always had a competitive nature, but it wasn’t until I lost some weight for my June 2013 wedding that I fell in love with fitness. After I seeing some result, it motivated me to continue setting new goals for myself. A year and a half a go I decided to change my lifestyle and have been pushing hard at the gym since. With the endless access to social media, I became motivated to compete and see how far I could push myself. After competing for the first time this spring, I feel compelled to compete in the WBFF, because of it’s commitment to quality. It’s refreshing to be part of an industry that is so uplifting and positive.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
From small messages posted on Instagram to people in my everyday life, Inspiration is everywhere To stay inspired I surround myself with positive people. Killing my workouts each day, especially during prep keeps me motivated to persevere in this sport. On low energy days, I find a lot of motivation in within other female athletes in the sport, knowing others are struggling through similar difficult days makes me feel the strong sense of camaraderie in this sport. Pursuing my best self is my biggest inspiration.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
I have competed in one other show, OCB Spirt of America in April 2014.

4. Who got you started?
No one person in particular, some women at my gym asked about me wanting to compete when I first started this fitness journey, but prior to that some Pros in the industry provided me with some motivation to get started.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
Now, I look to my coach, Bela Santos for guidance and support.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I work out at Elite Health and fitness in Stoughton, MA.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
Yes. I use “about time whey” whey protein, chocolate. Also for pre work I have been using S.E.X. ( strength /energy/xellorator)

8. What are your most noticeable results?
My most noticeable result have been in small gains in muscle mass since I have started. Before competiton prep I worked super hard to put on some size on my quads and shoulders. I am pleased with my progress, but I will continue to set new fitness goals and achieve them!

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
I would say fitness has changed my life by making me a more positive person. Having a lifestyle that is healthy has more benefits than just looking good. I’ve noticed changes in my relationships, my energy level, self confidence, to name a few. Fitness Ina’s become not only an outlet for me but a hobby that I am fully invested in and love sharing with others!

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
In regards to fitness and lifting, as I previously mentioned, competing with the WBFF is a personal fitness goal I am happy to be meeting. On a smaller scale I work on setting goals in the gym to hit each month, for example I wanted to be able to do unassisted pull ups. Each day I tried until I could get two full pull ups. I record each weight, each rep in hopes to meet or exceed the next time I do it. Setting goals and seeing result is what drives me.

11. Describe your diet.
I eat 5 meals a day (both off and on prep). Each meal is high in protein, low GI veggies and a starchy carb at break fast and lunch. I like to get creative in the kitchen and add variety at each meal…I love green apples, I try to fit that in my meals on as many days as possible.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
During prep:
Day 1 legs( quads, ploys)
Day 2 fasted cardio in the AM+ chest and triceps
Day 3 fasted cardio in the AM +shoulders
Day 4 legs (hamstrings, glutes, calves and plyos)
Day 5 back and biceps
Day 6 HIITS
Day 7 rest

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a School Adjustment Counselor

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
One of my goals is to finish my doctorate degree in social work and continue creating flexible mental health programs within public schools.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
Yes, I played soccer through high school and intermural soccer in college

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
Special thank you to my husband Mark and my mom and dad for being so understanding and supportive. Thanks to Bela for helping sculpt me into show ready shape, you are a motivation more than you know.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I love to cook and anything related to fashion.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
Some challenges I face that may keep me from reaching my fitness goals is occasional self doubt, not believing fully that I can achieve something can be detrimental, that’s why it’s always important to set attainable goals to continue building self confidence.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
The biggest obstacle I have over come are sticking to and maintaining a diet until it became a lifestyle. I’m weight always fluctuated 10 pounds, and I would get discouraged at times when I was at my higher weight. Since changing my choices, I have been so pleased with the outcomes that it’s hard to remember what it was like before. Other obstacles have to do with other’s opinions of me. Whether it criticism of my physique, or misunderstanding why I choose to compete.

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
I feel proud of how far I’ve come and I am beyond excited to be a part of a WBFF show.