Jennifer Sammartino

Nickname: Jen
Birth Date: 05/25/1974
Birth Place: Warwick, RI
Current Residence: Warwick, RI
Height & Weight: 5’2 110 lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
I had been working out in the gym, when this woman, whom I had been staring at for a couple of weeks due to her incredible physique, approached me and asked if I was a competitor. I chuckled at the idea that SHE was asking ME this! Turns out, it was Jeannette Jarnes, WBFF Pro. We spoke further about the prospect of me considering competiting in the upcoming show in November. She was kind enough to give me all of her info in case I had any questions. Well, after researching her amazing career, and the WBFF organization, I decided “why not try it!”

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I am inspired by others who have walked that stage in the past and who will be walking with me in the future. Knowing that it is possible to get your body to that point…and knowing that I WILL DO THIS motivates me!

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
This will be the first time i have ever participated in a show. Who knows where it will take me in the future!

4. Who got you started?
If it werent for Jeannette Jarnes putting that little bug in my ear, I would not be on the very difficult but rewarding journey!

5. Who do you look to for help now?
The very own Mr. Topka….who helps me with my meals and workout tips..(and scares me a little when i mess up) a little! Also, Ms. Nicole Costa, who will help me look graceful on that stage! And I cannot forget Jeannette who is there to lend an ear or advice when I am feeling a bit discouraged!

6. Where do you usually workout?
Gold Gym, East Greenwich, RI

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I am currently taking Beta-Alanine, DHEA, Carnitine, Carnosine, Digest Gold, BCAA Powder, Glutamine, (GNC)and Creatine (Con-Cret) , and Now Sports Whey Protein Isolate

8. What are your most noticeable results?
The most noticible results has been the fast loss of body fat thereby making my muscles far more defined.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
My life had mainly been focused around my carreer, and then my 4 children. I ate on the run, and never gave much thought to how I felt or looked. Getting involved with working out gave me a purpose for “me”. It was a couple hours here and there just for mom. It wasnt long before it became a passion. I now look forward to every day I get to go to the gym. It gave me motivation and dedication I never even knew I had!

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
At this point, getting my body from beach ready to STAGE ready is my main focus. For some time I have been happy with my fitness routine, and they way I have felt and looked. This is a whole new ballgame.

11. Describe your diet.
I eat oatmeal, fruit and a shake every morning, and a post workout shake. The rest of the day is filled with 4 complete meals spaced out about 3 hours, and a snack before bed (usually a rice cake and almond butter). My macronutrient ratio at this point is roughly 50/30/20.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
I workout each body part once a week – (except legs which gets two) 3 days of light cardio, and sundays off! I try and get about 1000 various crunches in a week, spread over 3 days!

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a stay at home mom to three girls, 12, 9, and 3. My oldest son, 19 recently moved out on his own, However, I am still busy offering tele support! 🙂 I think if you ask those close to me ….they may say my current job is ME.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
My goals change on a daily basis. Depending on what is going on in my life at the moment…and how I feel at the time. I do know that I hope to someday have some sort of career within the fitness industry, as I am so passionate about every aspect of it. The only goal which will always be a constant will be that I remain a role model for my daughters, and that they can be proud of their mom and hopefully be inspired to grow up to be healthy, strong bodied, and confident women!

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I played Tennis and basketball in high school.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I cannot thank Jeannette enough for opening my eyes to this amazing journey. And my entire family….who puts up with my crankiness due to hunger and/or food envy, and accepts the craziness of my eating and gym schedule. And my husband…whom often gets stuck with all the dirty dishes and pans (well, because after all that cooking and measuring…who feels like it)

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I would have to say the gym is my biggest hobby….

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
I refuse to accept that any challenges will keep me from achieving anything. The food and eating is by far the hardest part, however I have control over all of that. The biggest challenge I have is perfecting certain body parts at the moment. However, in the end, i will know i did my best and walk out as confident as I can knowing that!

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
I think just finding the time, and reaching a good balance when you have a large family is very difficult. It sounds odd referring to your family as an “obstacle”. However, for what it takes to be at a point where you are contest ready really does take a lot of planning and time management skills so that your children never feel they are second to “the gym”.