Jen Lawson

Name: Jen Lawson
Birth Date: 11/08/1973
Current Residence: Tyngsboro, MA
Height & Weight: 5 3′ 113

1. What made you want to compete?
I started out doing some fitness modeling for tradeshows and nutritional ads. I had always been interested in the fitness scene as I had been going to bodybuilding competitions since the 90’s and routing for my male friends. Going to the Mr. Olympia in Las Vegas was the turning point for me, seeing Susie Curry on stage with an amazing rock hard body but tiny figure was my true inspiration! Meeting fitness icons like Monica Brant, Cory Everson , Sherri Groggin-Gardina, and many others was so motivational and led me to the stage a few years later!

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
Just look in the mirrior everyday lol! Im my worst critic by far. I love to have a challenge and find great gratitude in accomplishing my own goals. Being a certified trainer and having the knowledge in the proper way to train and diet gives me a huge advantage at reaching my goals and inspiring myself and others around me.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
I have been competing since 2005 and placed 3rd in my very first show, what an incerdible feeling that was! Since then I have been in 16 shows (NPC, FAP, USBF)placing in the top 5 at 12 of the shows. This year I am very excited to be competing in the WBFF in Nov. I have heard many positive things about the federation/brand, I will be competing with some fellow fitness friends and looking forward to meeting new friends 🙂

4. Who got you started?
I would have to say my male bodybuiding friends. They got me hooked on the gym after high school. I was always training along with them just using much lighter weights. I always enjoyed my time in the gym and felt it was fun and not a chore.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
Since I have had many years competing/dieting/training I rely alot on my own self knowledge. I have learned over these years what works good for my body. I always love contructive criticism from fellow competitors/friends/trainers. It helps alot to get other opinions sometimes they see something you dont. I have some great friends that are PRO competitors so their knowledge is always appreciated.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I train at 2 gyms Best Fitness in Chelmsford, MA
and LA Fitness in Stoughton, MA

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
Right now im taking Dymatize ISO-100 whey protein, Scivation Xtend during my workouts, BCAA’s, Womens Ultra Mega Vitamin, B super complex, Glutamine, Taurine, Milk Thistle, Omega 3’s

8. What are your most noticeable results?
I have changed my workouts since switching from figure to bikini. I use to train alot heavier as I was always trying to gain more muscle. Now I have enough muscle and I just needed to soften my look and downsize a little. I was lucky to have a good foundation so my focus was just my diet and getting more leanness overall. I maintained 6 days in the gym split with weights and cardio.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
ABSOLUTELY!!! I have had so many great experiences competing from reaching my goals on stage, to meeting new friends and of course traveling all over the states. My modeling career has been amazing and I could not be happier!

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
My #1 Goal is to turn PRO! That is the biggest accomplishment I could achieve. #2 Goal is to be featured on the cover of a fitness magazine, how amazing would that be 🙂

11. Describe your diet.
I eat healthy 90% of the time. I maintain a high protein, low carb, low sugar diet. I like to do carb rotation days. My main protein sources are chicken, turkey, fish, eggs, whey. I eat alot of vegetables and salads I love them! I keep my starches low and have oats, sweet potatoes, ezekiel bread, brown rice, rice cakes. I try to keep my desserts to a minimum that is my absolute weakness!!!! Love me some sweets 🙂

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
During my pre-contest training im in the gym 6 days a week. I do a weight training session with usually 2-3 bodyparts per session followed by 25-40 min of cardio. A mix between steady state and HIIT. I get the best results when im using the Stepmill. I feel the most burn and it raises my heart rate to where I need it.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a hairdresser, makeup artist, nail tech, personal trainer, and fitness model. I love it all, each one gives me different experiences and makes me very happy!

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
Just to continue to strive for the best in my life and every aspect of it. Live life to the fullest 🙂

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I was very athletic as a young child and through high school. I was involved in track, softball, basketball, soccer, vollyball, swimming. I was always very competitve and had so much fun being involved in sports. It was one of the best highlights of my younger years and that is why I believe im still going strong in this sport of fitness today.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
Im so lucky to have had the best support system from my family, close friends, co workers, and loved ones.
It has been a struggle but they have always stuck by me and supported me to the fullest.
We all know being around someone who is dieting for a show is not easy lol! We get grumpy, dont have much patience, and are always scheduling our days around when we are eating and training.
So a huge thank you to the great people in my life for sticking by me and help pushing me further.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
Well I love to travel and spend time in warm places where I can go to the beach. I like to do water sports and outdoor activities. I have been skiing since I was 8 years old.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
Right now I do not see any challenges keeping me from my goals.
I just dont think in that negative way and I will push through any obstacle that I may encounter to reach my goals.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
I was involved in a head on car collision in 2010 that left me with a shattered left femur, shattered left foot, and broken/dislocated right ankle. I was hospitalized for 10 days then at home for 19 weeks recovering with a titanium rod put through my left femur, 2 casts on each leg, wheelchair bound till I healed enough to get walking casts and crutches. It was the biggest challenge of my life! I was preparing for a National Level show that was just 10 days away. I was heart broken that all my hard work had been taken away from me 🙁
My motivation was to someday get back on the stage and compete again. Last Oct I had the rod removed from my femur and my left foot re-broken to reset it. My goal was another year of healing and fully recover to get back into competition shape. So this is my year for the comeback and I couldn’t be happier!!!!!!!!

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
Im just really excited to get back on the stage after a 2 year break and I cant wait to get that great adrenaline rush when im up there!
Im definitely looking forward to meeting new friends and seeing old ones too 🙂