Erin Etsler

Name: Erin Etsler
Birth Date: 03/03/1981
Birth Place: Rochester, NY
Current Residence: Rochester,NY
Height & Weight: 5’5″ 130 lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
A close friend Jordan Daniels. Jordan has previously competed in this federation and she really played up the excitement and reward of showing off the hard work and dedication of the training. My trainer Sebastian Zona also provided me with encouragement about my body and its ability to this passion to another level.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I consistently read on other athletes in this industry. When I am feeling fatigued or overwhelmed, I always find an amazing story about someone beating the odds and overcoming adversity. This always refocuses me and allows me to push through to reach my upmost potential.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
This will be my first show. I am excited to participate and show off my hard work in order to compete at Worlds with the best of the best.

4. Who got you started?
My friend Jordan Daniels directed me to my trainer. Between the two of them I was hooked on breaking into the world of competing. Since then I have continued to push hard and grow more and more focused on my goals.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
I really respect and trust my trainer who has also become a great friend. He is very knowledgable in regards to nutrition and contest prep. I have no doubt that I will be very prepared for this show.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I workout between 2 different local gyms depending on the type of equipment needed for the exercises being performed that day.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I love Dymatize protein, especially the chocolate mint flavor. Besides the protein powder I take a combination of vitamins, dietary supplements, and glutamine recovery powder. I typically purchase the NOW brand.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
My best features will be my abs/obliques as well as the back. These two areas have come in nicely however I still have a very balanced look.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
I have always been very active and athletic. For me adding the nutrition component has been the biggest life changer for me. I now have lean hard muscle and more energy. Changing my body through diet has caused a boost in confidence and increased passion for exercise.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
My goals are to continue to get bigger and leaner. I want to win my pro card and compete at Worlds with some of the best athletes in the industry.

11. Describe your diet.
I have had numerous diet changes since I have started. I am now on a high protein/fat diet with moderate carbs.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
I train 6 days a week. 4 days of lifting and 2 days of cardio.

13. What do you do for a living?
I work as a Real Estate agent for Remax Plus

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
My goal is to accomplish the Platinum Sales award and eventually grow my own team of successful agents.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I played competitive soccer from the age of 4 -26.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
And the shout outs go to…
Sebastian Zona my good friend and trainer. Thanks for believing in me, pushing me, and showing me the way
Jordan Daniels for planting the seed, introducing me to this industry, and showing me support and guidance
Jess Koston for your competitive spirit and helping me pick the right division to compete in 😉
To my kids – thank you for your patience and support in this process and putting up with the occasional sugar withdrawal crabbiness 🙂

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I love doing anything active. I love to workout and it has become my hobby and passion.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
The biggest challenge would be finding time. I am a single mom to 3 kids. Between their schedules/needs, meal prep, training, and work it can be a challenge. Time management and discipline has been key. I think of being physically fit as a priority. Teaching my kids through my example to take care of themselves is just as important as teaching them manners, patience, and being respectful beings.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
I have had quite a few difficult life obstacles, however the first and most life changing was having my beautiful daughter at 17. Despite becoming a mother so young I persevered and secured a full scholarship to play division 1 soccer. Raising a child while working to achieve a bachelors degree and a soccer career has taught me that anything is possible. I use that drive and focus in all that I do.