Ellyse Salter

Name: Ellyse Salter
Birth Date: 12/30/1988
Birth Place: Huron, South Dakota
Current Residence: Dyersville, Iowa
Height & Weight: 5’4″ 117 lbs.

1. What made you want to compete?
I was born competitive and grew up with athletics being a huge part of my life. After having my second child, the gym became my alone time – but something was missing. I love having goals to achieve. When I started hearing about the WBFF I knew it would be the perfect way to feed my competitive hunger and still have fun! The WBFF is about fitness and fashion, which is unlike any other organization.

Plus with the WBFF it’s a competition against yourself. Competitors are behind stage helping each other get their gowns, theme wear and bikinis on and looking perfect. We want each other to succeed because we all know the hard work and drive it takes to compete.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I think about how I am a role model for my children. When I hear my son asks if a restaurant provides sweet potatoes instead of French fries (he really does talk like this!) or see my daughter do jumping jacks with me in the living room, I know they are looking up to me. Plus, I am fortunate enough to have a partner that brings out the best in me and reminds me EVERY day how much I love this sport. ** and I can’t lie when I look at pictures of PROS and even myself from my last show I know it is worth every single sacrifice.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
My first show was WORLDS on August 23 & 24th. It was the most incredible experience of my life. To talk to the Pros and watch them on stage was an amazing learning experience. I made numerous friends who I talk to everyday. That show gave me the itch to do more! I look forward to my next show November 9th in Rhode Island for the New England Fitness and Fashion Weekend!

Also looking at:
AUSTRALIA
Miami/Boston and of course Worlds again!

4. Who got you started?
I know many competitors have a coach or team. I do research; get advice from other athletes. I focus on improvements through trial and error. I am working on my nutrition and fitness certification, which helps!!

5. Who do you look to for help now?
I look to my boyfriend for support. He has been a rock through all of this, and even follows my diet and fitness plan. I bounce thoughts off him, and even get his opinion on my progress. I truly believe that those close to you being supportive and honest is the best thing for athletes. I can’t imagine doing this journey without my ROCK!

6. Where do you usually workout?
Signature Gym in Dubuque Iowa – best gym in the area for every type of person! Their power lifting area and jungle gym is incredible!
Anytime Fitness in Dyersville Iowa – without having this gym open 24 hrs I’m not sure what I would do! I am a mom and wait until my kids are in bed or get up before they wake for most of my workouts, 24/7 gyms are a MUST! Not to mention there is one EVERYWHERE so when I travel I don’t have an excuse!

HOME- I am a mom and find balance between work, family and fitness by doing workouts at home and get my kids involved!

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
ABOUTTIME has everything I need – pre workout, protein, shake and go, and more. Their products are all natural and I love that they have awesome flavors even birthday cake and pumpkin spice, which make all my recipes DELICIOUS and endless.

I also use a daily multivitamin, fish oils, woman’s daily vitamin and I do natural cleanses before starting my training for each show or race.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
I am blessed with and athletic body. I use to hate it in high school. Here was 5’4” Ellyse next to tall, slim beauties. After having my second child I missed that high school body, now high school body is put to SHAME! I love my glutes and legs, they have come so far since I learned how to really sculpt them. Every single body is beautiful, but to watch your own transform is INCREDIBLE!

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
I can’t imagine an athlete saying fitness didn’t change their life. My life and those around me has changed since fitness has become such a large part of it. My father has heart problems and my family was always eating heavy, not so healthy meals growing up. I think back to my diet as a high school athlete and always wonder how much better I would have performed had I known what I do now.

As a family, both my close and extended, we have really changed our lifestyles. We focus on making healthy meals together, working out together, and getting involved with activities together. When you aren’t alone in the process you truly can push yourself to do your best. Also I plan to own my own business soon that is centered around fitness *keep an eye out for the launch in the near future!

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
I want to continue to be a healthier, more fit version of myself every day. I have grown tremendously in the past 3 years since my daughter was born. First it was through getting back into “shape” which at the time was getting back to the gym a few times a weeks. Then, I began focusing on running and marathon training. Training caused me to focus on my nutrition. Food became fuel, not indulgence.
After I began seeing how my body was transforming I wanted to see my body change even more. I wanted to not only feel my best, but look my best. Sculpting my body to look both feminine and fit was a fun new challenge. Each day I try to push my body in ways it hasn’t been pushed before by targeting different muscle groups. I look forward to watching as my body changes over time and in the future, especially with my eyes set on more competitions.
Ultimately my dream, which is a goal, is to be a WBFF Pro and every day I am striving to reach that!

11. Describe your diet.
Oatmeal, protein, eggs, Ezekiel bread, chicken, salmon, tilapia, brown rice/ Quinoa, Broccoli, Sweet potatoes, steak of course (I am an Iowa girl!) WATER WATER WATER!

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
Mondays: Legs
Tuesday: Tris/Bis
Wednesday: Abs/Back
Thursday: Glutes ** Favorite
Friday: Shoulders
Saturday: Abs/Back
Sunday: Yoga
*I rotate different cardio workouts in as well. Not to mention coaching and playing sports about 3 to 4 days a week and during off season training for marathons.

13. What do you do for a living?
Besides being a mother to two beautiful and brilliant children.
I am an Event and Communications Professional and I am currently working on a few certifications which will bring me down a new fitness oriented career path.

Also I am the founder of a non-profit targeted towards helping teenage mothers graduate high school and receive a college degree. Be the Outlier “Changing statistics one teenage mother at a time.”

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
I am extremely goal driven and am always looking for ways to improve my family and my life. My current goals are to increase awareness of and support from Be the Outlier (my non-profit), finish my fitness certifications so I can launch my business, to potty train my daughter (this is a big one! Haha), to increase my community involvement, to grow as a mother/girlfriend, and TO INSPIRE SOMEONE!

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
In High School I was involved in soccer, track, softball, basketball, and volleyball. Now as an adult I play softball, soccer, golf and train for runs – I am hoping to qualify for the Boston Marathon in 2015.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I don’t think I can thank my family enough. Without my support system I wouldn’t be competing.
First to my boyfriend, someday husband, for being my: best friend, biggest supporter, rock, chief when I am too tired to prep, workout partner, and soul mate. YOU ARE MY ROCK!
Thank you to my children: for making me smile on low-carb days, enjoying making healthy food, keeping me active on top of my workout schedule, reminding me to enjoy the simple things, loving me unconditionally and being my biggest “little” fans!
Finally thank you to my parents, siblings and close friends. You all ask me constantly how I am doing and what you can do to help. Thank you for supporting my lifestyle and dreams even though they are different and new.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I am an HUGE Chicago Cubs fan. I haven’t missed an opening day in 6 years and spring training is something I try to get to Arizona to at least once every two years.
I am also a big Blackhawks, Colts, and Boston Celtics fan. Sports have always been a huge part of my life. However, since I started doing these competitions I have only been able to focus on Fantasy Football and going to a few baseball games.
I also enjoy being a soccer coach for my son, traveling with my family, and being outdoors. I look forward to watching my kids play sports and being as involved in the PTA as possible!

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
My family comes above everything for me. I have goals and dreams, but if it came down to them or my dreams it wouldn’t be a contest. However, they love that fitness is our lifestyle so I don’t think it would be an issue.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
“Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson
I had my son when I was still in High School and instead of letting it determine my future being a mother gave me the drive and determination to receive a college degree. While in college I had my daughter my Senior year. However I worked hard and managed my time with a 4 year old and a new born to complete college in 4 years with a Bachelor of Arts Degree majoring in Marketing and Public Relations. Things were going great when I found myself married to an abusive husband. After being brought down to rock bottom both physically and emotionally, I stood up for myself and left him. I began making a life for myself and my children centered on happiness and family. During this time I met my boyfriend. He has assisted in creating a plan to achieve my dreams, one of which competing with the WBFF and becoming a PRO. On this journey to the stage I have grown more confident in myself. My past is what brought me here and I cannot wait to see where the future takes me!

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
Everyone has 24 hours in a day, 7 days in a week, and 52 weeks in a year. Whether your dreams and goals are like mine, or entirely different, make each moment count and make each decision a step forward to achieving your dreams. EVERY dream is POSSIBLE but NO ONE will hand it to you.
“Good things come to those who wait, but only what’s left by those who hustle.”