Donna Fossati

Name: Donna Fossati
Birth Date: 10/03/1987
Birth Place: Ny
Current Residence: Mahopac ny
Height & Weight: 5’10” 174lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
I had thought about competing for a few years but never felt confident enough to do it because I have always been over weight, and it seemed like such an impossible challenge. I found out about team brick house bodies from my friend Katie Flor who competed in a show last year. She introduced me to my coach Tabitha Sierra, and we discussed my goals and I decided that I was ready to challenge my body and my mind and see what I could do.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I look to my teammates for a lot of inspiration, also reflecting on how far I have come so far helps.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
This will be my first show, and I don’t plan on it being my last. I am enjoying challenging myself and seeing how far I can push my body.

4. Who got you started?
My friend Katie Flor participated in her first show last year. She inspired me to get started on my fitness journey , and to stay fit.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
I have many people that I can look to for help. I am part of team brick house bodies, so I am always surrounded by people I can talk to if I’m having a rough time with my diet, need a workout partner, or just having a challenging day.

6. Where do you usually workout?
NYSC in Somers Ny

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
For supplements I take a multivitamin, omega3, bcaa, and glutamine.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
In the beginning of this journey I started out at 37% body fat. I’m the past 5 months it has gone down to a healthy/athletic range. With the weight loss I can now see the muscles that I have been building. The most noticeable muscle change is definitely my shoulders and my glutes.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
Fitness has definitely changed my life for the better. I am a healthier more confident woman. I am still learning balance, and have started taking more time for myself.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
I am learning my fitness strengths and weaknesses during my training. One of my weaknesses is distance running, my next goal after this show is to run a half marathon.

11. Describe your diet.
My diet on a typical day consists of about 6 meals including carbs (first 3 meals) protein and veggies. The amount of each depends on my workouts.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
I lift and do cardio 5 days a week. Right now I am training legs, back/bis, shoulders/tris once a week, and have conditioning twice a week.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a hairdresser/makeup artist in Westport Ct. I love having a job that let’s me learn about my clients, and share what’s going on in my life as well. Since I have started training for this competition they are always excited for my progress update when they come in. Many of my clients have told me that I have inspired them to become healthier. It is amazing to have a job that let’s you get close enough to people to inspire them.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
In the future I would like to expand my business, build my clientele and do more freelance/ photo shoot work.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
Growing up I was a swimmer, my strokes were freestyle and butterfly. I feel like I can swim for miles, but running is such a challenge. That’s why one of my next goals is a marathon.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
My friends and family have been a great support throughout my training. Always encouraging me and never negative. Family dinner has now become clean diet friendly food for everyone even though they didn’t have to. It made my diet and training a lot easier. I thank them for still encouraging me even when I am moody and cant explain why, and for still wanting to hangout which me even when all I want to do is nap.

17. Do you have any hobbies?

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
I enjoy working out, so my biggest challenge is definitely the diet. I have the worlds biggest sweet tooth that I am trying to keep under control.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
The diet change was an obstacle for me, but I am learning ways to stay on track. Another obstacle is balancing my schedule and taking time for myself. As I get deeper into this journey I am finding out how important it is to make time for my training and rest.