Cheryl Hope Sclar

Name: Cheryl Hope Sclar
Birth Date: 03/04/1966
Birth Place: Boston
Current Residence: Stoughton
Height & Weight: 4’11 97.5 llbs

1. What made you want to compete?
I always wanted to go back 20 years! There always seemed to be something holding me back. One day I woke up and looked at myself and saw change I never saw before. I had passed my CPT exam, called my friend Elaine Polito and asked her about her thoughts. Then I called my “sister” Taya after seriously asking myself “If not now, then when”. Then I thought about all the things I try to teach my daughter……..so here I am … this is “my now”.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I look at my beautiful daughter Reyna. She is 9 years old and she watches everything I do. She inspires, motivates, and even encourages me. I read articles and follow athletes like Dana Linn Baily and Nicole Wilkins. I only surround myself with like-minded ambitious people.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
This is my first show! I hope to compete in the Spring again. Right now I feel like this is just the beginning of my journey.

4. Who got you started?
It is hard to say. I have worked with many trainers since I was 20 years old. I think a turning point for me in the wonderful world of iron was a trainer named Kristi. She really showed me how weight lifting can enhance your life overall. Elaine Polito put me on track back in March. My “sister” Taeyanna has always been my person .

5. Who do you look to for help now?
First and foremost my mom, she never lets me down no matter how big or small the issue is! Now and forever I lean on my best friend who is like a sister to me, Taeyanna Hagan. She is a fitness guru, as well as my rock. My other fitness supporters on this journey have been Bela Santos from Bela Body, Judine, Suzette, my friend Kibira, my mentors Elaine Polito & Jenn Fulton. They all have had so much to offer in the way of help.

6. Where do you usually workout?
Elite Health & Fitness Center in Stoughton, Mass. It’s like home to me!

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
New Chapter multi-vitamins, Vitamin C and B- complex. IForce Compete all year round. When I am allowed to have shakes, I like Protizyme peanut butter cookie. In my oatmeal during off peak, I use a little About Time /peanut butter flavor. I prefer not to use pre-workout supplements. Sometimes I grab a bottle of Isopure, it’s so easy on the stomach.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
My whole package has changed but mostly my abs and my legs.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
Yes- the stronger I get the more I am able to fight against what ails me. With my illness, I am faced with issues almost daily. Fitness not only gives me strength and health, it has also increased my self confidence with every passing year. Getting ready for this show has taught me many valuable life lessons, and I have learned so much about myself.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
I want to continue this path and see how far I can go. I also want to motivate and inspire people who face obstacles similar to mine, especially those suffering from Pulmonary Cilia Dyskinesia (PCD / Kartageners Syndrome).

11. Describe your diet.
Because I have Celiac Disease, I am Gluten free everyday all day. Since March I cut out all refined sugars and dairy, although I always maintained a low-fat strict diet. Sweet potatoes are my best friend on many days. I eat mostly chicken and fish, lots of spinach and asparagus, broccoli & egg whites, GF oatmeal until 6 weeks out, and that changed to cream of rice with Walden Farms calorie free syrup. My favorite meal right now has been my last one before bed – 3/4 cups egg whites with one whole egg cooked in non-fat oil spray.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
6-7 days per week. With my hectic schedule teaching two classes per week at night on top of my regular job, I get it in whenever I can; 5:30 am or 10:0pm I get the job done.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am an educator and a counselor. For the majority of my career I have worked with “at-risk youth” in Los Angeles & Massachusetts. I have been an adjunct professor at 3 different colleges since 2005. I still teach two evening classes each semester . I am a full-time counselor at Bristol Community College for the Gateway to College (GTC) program . GTC is nationwide wrap around program designed for youth ages 16-21 year old who did not / are not finding success in High School. Student in the program can get their high school diploma while earning college credit.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
To continue to be the best mother I can be. To show my daughter that she can be whatever she wants to be, and against all odds. I wish to raise awareness for Pulmonary Cilia Dyskinesia (PCD) / Kartageners Syndrome.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
Not really, mostly just fitness. When I a kid I played softball and volleyball. I’m proud to say I have always been more of an artist.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
First, I need to thank my mum for teaching me that I am stronger than I know and that I could overcome any obstacle. Thank you to my daughter Reyna for being as patient as a 9 year old can be & being the best cheerleader ever!shout out to my daughter – Ashley.I also want to thank my brother for being a great role model.

I have received so much love and support on this journey, it is hard to narrow it down. My list includes: my “sister” Taeyanna, Vienedre, Suzette, Judine, Iva, Lindsay, Kibira, Reggie, Kellie, Danya, Josh Duttlinger for my wonderful photos, my Diet / Nutrition Guru Dave Lyford and Bela Santos my wonderful posing coach & friend.

My sponsors: Kristen & Holly at RENEW Spa ( & for their friendship), and Tina at Cheng Du and of course Jackie and the entire team at Elite Health & Fitness, my second home!

Special shout-out to my amazing niece Arielle & brilliant nephew Zachary for being my sunshine on cloudy days.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
Art, more specifically painting. I went to art school for undergrad and have shown my paintings publicly over the years.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
Time is always an issue but I do not plan on letting that hold me back. To me it is a priority. Many would think that my illness is a challenge. On some days it is definitely challenging but it does not define me; it simply motivates me. I have to do more “things” to care for myself but that is all part of perseverance and time-management. As a single mom with a full-time career there are always challenges with time-management, but if you want something bad enough you figure it out.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
I was born with a rare illness called Pulmonary Cilia Dyskinesia (PCD). Long story short it is compared to Cystic Fibrosis. It hits everyone a little differently but it does present daily issues. Staying healthy and keeping my lungs clear is a fight, but that is a choice we all make. We choose whether to lay down or fight. I choose to fight.

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
Anyone who is interested in knowing more about me can find me on Facebook!