Cary Parella

Name: Cary Parella
Birth Date: 04/23/1979
Birth Place: Bridgeport, Connecticut
Current Residence: Bohemia, New York
Height & Weight: 5’1″ & 111 lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
This has always been a life long dream of mine! From the time I was little, I would watch the fitness competitions on ESPN, and say “When I get big and strong that’s what I am going to do”! So now, I am finally able to fullfill this goal and I am so very excited!

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I get my inspiration from several different places. I like to look through past pro WBFF competitions. I find motivation and inspiration knowing what I aspire to look like at the end of my training. I also like reading the daily inspirational postings from web pages such as Muscle and Fitness Hers, GYM Motivation, and Fit & Firm Magazine. I also just keep my eye on the prize. When I work hard and see the awesome results I get from training, that keeps me pushing harder and digging deeper!

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
This is my first show! I definitely plan on entering more competitions in the future!

4. Who got you started?
I have spent my entire life in fitness and athletics, so it has been a natural progression for me. I’ve always wanted to compete at this level at some point in my life. I attended a Fitness America Competition, and I felt it was time to pursue this opportunity. I’ve met a fellow competitor who connected me to the NY Divas, and I got started!

5. Who do you look to for help now?
Help comes in many forms. I look to many of my friends who also compete. We all belong to the NY Divas and this group has helped me to keep pushing myself. They’ve been a great source of encouragemnet and support. They are an amazing group of women who understand the dedication and discipline it takes to make it to the top!
Without a doubt, I look to my husband, Danny, who has been my bigggest fan from the start! He encourages and supports me to the fullest! There has never been a time in my training when he wasn’t there for me! He literally has done all of the workouts with me and even follows my diet! This has been an incredible support because of the strict and intense diet. I am so fortunate!!
I also look to my trainer, Diana Chaloux-LaCerte from Hitch Fit. She has been amazing throughout this journey and has helped me to acheive goals that I’ve never dreamed possible!

6. Where do you usually workout?
I usually workout at LA Fitness in my hometown. Sometimes I change it up and go to Bev Francis Powerhouse Gym in Syosset, NY.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I’ve used whey protein, glutamine, L-carnitine, and green tea extract. I usually buy everything at the Vitamin Shoppe.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
I’ve seen the most noticeable results in my core, especially in the definintion of my upper body and abs.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
Fitness has always been an important factor in my life. I was drawn to it at a young age and it has been a part of my life ever since.
I started lifting in high school for track and volleyball. From there it was just second nature to me to be in a gym and to be in the know about nutrition, and how much that plays a part in my life as well. Fitness definitely has impacted my life and will continue to do so in everything I set out to do.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
My goal is to definiatley maintain what I have acheived since I have started training for this competition. I intend to keep good eating habits and choices whether I am in competition mode or not! My goal is to be a fitness/physique model. I am going to continue competing at this level and would like to push forward in the fitness industry.

11. Describe your diet.
My diet is incredibly clean! I eat a balanced diet with carb cycling. It mostly consists of lean meats, healthy fats, and complex carbs.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
My workout schedule is intense. I do both cardio and strength training 6 days a week. Cardio has gradually increased throughout my training and I am now at 2 hours daily, 6 days per week. I also do giant and superset workouts, with weight varying, also done 6 days per week.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a dental assistant. In the past I have done personel training, both with the general public and athletes.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
My personal non-fitness goals would be to start a family one day. My husband and I also plan to travel in the future!

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I have been active in sports since the age of 8! I have a diverse background in sports. I have participated in gymnastics, baseball, basketball, volleyball, track, softball, and rugby.
I was also a member of and competed on the Connecticut Olympic Weightlifting Team.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I would like to thank all of my family members for the love and support they have given me throughout this amazing journey! I would also like to thank my husband, Danny, who has been there from the start encouraging me to go for my dreams!
A special thanks to my trainer Diana Chaloux-LaCerte, of Hitch Fit, for her support and pushing me through to the end!

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I really love to snowboard! I also enjoy all things fashion.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
There are always going to be challenges in life. However, it’s how I look at the goal ahead and perservere through the difficult times that helps me to acheive my goals. I constantly push myself and I don’t give up. When I set my mind to it, nothing can stop me from achieving my goals!

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
I have overcome many obstacles in my life that have shaped me into the person I am today.
Being a lifelong athlete, I have had my share of sports related injuries. Several of them required surgery and rehabilitation. I had to work and train hard to get back to the level of performance I was at each time. Life can throw us curve balls. However, it is all in how we choose to deal with it that defines our character and who we are.

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
I think it’s all been covered and I am looking forward to the competition!