Amelia Hamilton-Miller

Name: Amelia Hamilton-Miller
Birth Date: 05/25/1977
Birth Place: Laconia, NH
Current Residence: Gilford, NH
Height & Weight: 5’0 Current (on 10/4) : 101 lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
I was interested in a new challange and pushing myself to the next level of fitness.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
I read a lot about staying positive. I also like to follow “rules” and to be held accountable, by checking in with my trainer as I prepare, makes me want to do my best!

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
This is my first show! Before I plan for the next one… I am excited to see how this one goes! 🙂

4. Who got you started?
With my sister Tekla’s encourgragement and my husband Lyall’s support… I was inspired by my sister’s college friend Diana Chaloux! I first worked with her through Hitchfit.com. I did the “lose weight feel Great” Program a few years back and was in awe of the results. I was a dancer/performer for years, but it’s been awhile since I was onstage performing. Following Diana and all she, Micah, and everyone at Hitchfit do inspired me to take on this new challange!

5. Who do you look to for help now?
I am still working with Diana and of course the support from family and friends helps to stay on track.

6. Where do you usually workout?
My workouts are currently done at home and outside in my neighborhood. It’s tricky to match my work schedules with gym schedules but it doesn’t stop me from working out!

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I currently take a multi-vitamin, Calcium Citrate, and Greens.
I have Whey Protein on the days I use freeweights. As I get closer to showday, it’s possible this may change.. I will update if so.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
I have always had fitness be a part of my life… But this new level of fitness has changed my life in that it shows me with hard work, patience, and discipline I really can achieve anything I want… as long as I put the effort needed into it!

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
My current fitness goal is to participate in my first WBFF Show! Once I finish that it is to maintain the healthy lifestyle associated with good health!

11. Describe your diet.
I am eating clean. No sugars, except a piece fo fruit in the morning. Currently no dairy.I do have carbs earlier in my days, but they are healthy carbs. I eat a lot of lean proteins and vegetables. (Sometimes so many vegetables I feel like a rabbit haha)

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
Cardio 6 times a week. The first 4 weeks I was doing full body free weight workouts three times a week. The next four weeks I continued with the cardio and then did two days or arms and two days of legs. My next four weeks… we shall see, (I look forward to seeing how my trainer changes it up to take me to the next level!)

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a Dance Instructor at the recreational dance studio my mom has owned and operated for over 25 years. I am also a co-host on a morning radio show here in NH (105.5 JYY; “Mya” on-air; www.wjyy.com)… Which means my already early mornings have been starting even earlier as I train even more for my first show.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
Long term, non-fitness goals… To take over my mom’s dance stuio one day so I experience owning and running my own business. I would also love for my husband and I to be able to one day find jobs we enjoy in a WARM location near beaches! I love the beauty of NH, but I am naturally cold, so NH winters can be a bit much. I met my husband when working on Cruise Ships and he’s from South Africa, so if we could move, with our three rescue Pups, to a warmer state it’d be great. I’d also love to get my rescue pups even more trained. If it works out, perhaps do the “mom” thing! And I would like to never stop traveling, I LOVE to travel!

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I was never professional in sports… unless you consider dance a sport. I belive dance keeps you fit but I was a pefromer, not a competitor. I was a High School Cheerleader. Also played tennis and field hockey in High School.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I would like to thank my sister Tekla for believing I could do this and pushing me to give it a shot. I would also like to thank my husband Lyall and my parents for supporting me as I made healthy requests wherever we went. Thank you Johansie for making me feel “glamorous”. I should probably thank my 106 yr old grandmother for some great genes too. And I couldn’t have done this without Diana Chaloux of HitchFit, thank you Diana, you are inspiring and amazing!

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I love to travel! I enjoying hiking the beautiful White Mts of NH and doing Stand up paddle on our lakes. I also like the chance to be creative and crafty. I would also have to say my dogs are my hobby because trying to train them and exercise with them keeps me busy!

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
I would just like to say how excited I am to learn about the WBFF and the way they encourage healthy living. In a world where “Obesity rates have more than doubled in adults and children since the 1970’s (National Center for Health Statistics, 2009).” It’s nice to see others who not only want a healthy lifestyle, but actually live one!