Alyson Webster

Name: Alyson Webster
Birth Date: 03/16/1989
Birth Place: Farmington, Maine
Current Residence: North Reading MA
Height & Weight: 5’5” 120

1. What made you want to compete?
I want to compete and show others what hard work can get you and inspire them to make a change for the better. I know that competing will give me a sense of pride and I want to push myself to the limits. I have taught myself discipline and patience. I have learned to control my mind and be patient with myself. I have gotten into such a good place both mentally and physically and have increased my overall health.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
The most important thing is to stay positive and know that it will all be worth it in the end. I have tracked my progress and taken photos of my gains along the way. On the days that I feel down or discouraged, I go back to the photos of when I was just starting out. It really helps to compare photos of today to when I first began training.

Some days I find myself watching speeches or motivational videos of men and women that have been down the same road. When I hear about the challenges that others face, I feel like we are all in this together.

I also use the inspiration from my followers on social media outlets. I have a great group of loyal followers who always remind me why I got into competitive fitness in the first place. Knowing that I am helping others and that they are using me as a source of inspiration, is very motivating.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
I competed in my first fitness competition in May 2014. The show was Fitness New England and located in Hartford, CT. I placed 5th in the Bikini division. I am very proud and humbled to have placed in my first competition.

4. Who got you started?
My boyfriend Austin, who is also my training partner and will be competing for his first time with me in this show, encouraged me to begin lifting weights just over a year ago. I always enjoyed working out but was limited in overall fitness. I would run road races and do cardio at the gym 5-6x a week. I barely lifted weights and wasn’t really sure what I was doing.

As Austin and I became more serious with our training, I found myself becoming more interested in fitness competitions and was inspired to compete. When I was younger my mother and late aunt competed in and promoted New England bodybuilding shows. I decided to look into posing classes and that is how I came into contact with Team Body Ambition and Coach Janelle Nicolo.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
I look to my coach Janelle to help me with my training program and how to prepare my diet for show. I find myself challenged with gaining muscle and keeping it on. I have a small frame and a very high metabolism. When I start following a nutritional plan, I find the body fat begins to fall off.

6. Where do you usually workout?
Typically I do cardio in my home or during my lunch breaks at Workout Club in Salem, NH . After work, I train at Tewksbury Sports Club in Tewksbury, MA. I really enjoy the staff at Tewksbury and that the facility has all new equipment. It feels like we are a family there.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
ProMera Sports is one of the only supplement companies I use. I use either Concret or Women’s Elite for muscle strength, overall endurance, and recovery. I use Amino-tred for my amino energy drinks and Capsi Blast for that extra push with cardio. I highly recommend ProMera Sports.

I take either a Whey or Isolate protein depending where I am in my training program. I recently have been taking IsoZen which is a Vitzen product. The cookies and cream flavor is wonderful.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
My abdominal area has greatly improved, along with my glutes. I use to be a big running so I had what most would call “runners butt”. It was flat and didn’t have much of a shape. I have really focused on improving that area the past few months.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
Fitness has changed my life in so many ways. The most important thing it has brought into my life is discipline. This disciple shaped me as a person and helped me in every aspect of my life. Knowing that I can control my impulses is something I had always struggled with. I also have improved my pride and self-esteem. I feel more connected to myself and have learned more about my body and what works and doesn’t.

Fitness has given me more drive and strength to pursue any dream or goal that I have. It has pushed me past my comfort zone and opened my eyes to everything around me. I am proud of who I am and what I have achieved. I know that this industry is where I am supposed to be and in my sharing of my journey I am helping improve the lives of others around me.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
In the beginning of 2014 I had set a few personal goals and New Year resolutions for myself. I wanted to compete in my first fitness competition, become a certified personal trainer and work for one of the top fitness companies in the industry.

I am happy to say that I have competed in my first competition and am going to be competing in my second. I am also submitting my ISSA personal trainer exam this coming month. I am also fortunate to be a New England demo rep for two of the top Fitness companies in the fitness industry. I am lucky to be part of Team ProMera Sports and Team Cardillo Weight belts.

11. Describe your diet.
My diet consists of 6 meals a day consisting of a protein, veggie and carb. My body loves carbs and therefore my coach and I keep them higher than most fitness competitors. Unlike most of my teammates, I am not a fan of chicken or sweet potatoes.

I typically have ground beef, ground turkey, salmon and white fish. I love rice pilaf, jasmine rice and brown rice. My favorite vegetables are Brussels sprouts or zucchini. I do consume moderate amounts of broccoli as well.

I have a protein shake or protein pancake in the morning and always a protein shake directly following my workouts. At night I typically have a rice cake and peanut butter or egg whites and guacamole.

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
I train 6 days a week. I like to split up my cardio and lifting. I do my cardio typically in the mornings on the treadmill at home, or I go to the gym across the street from my work on lunch. I lift weights Sunday- Friday at night directly after I get out of work. I am on a part split right now. Typically, two days of booty/legs, arms and shoulders, calves and chest ect.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am the Director of Alliances for a software company called Pragmatic Works. I manage the relationships between Pragmatic Works and Microsoft. My job requires some traveling, so I am fortunate to be able to visit cities such as New York City, Las Vegas and Chicago.
I also waitress three days a week and do supplement demos for ProMera Sports and Cardillo Weightbelts, to help pay for the costs of competing.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
I hope to purchase a home in the next 12 months. I am a licensed real estate agent and have always been interested in rehabbing and reselling homes. I hope to be settle down and be married in the next couple of years and eventually open my own Fitness business. I also enjoy traveling and would love to travel all over the U.S and do all the tourist things.

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
I played Field hockey, track and basketball in High school. I graduated from Merrimack College in North Andover, MA where I played Division II Field Hockey on a scholarship.

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I am so thankful for the friends and family that support me. My family has always been by my side and supported me in everything that I do. I know they are proud of me and I lean on them for the love and support. My friends do not always understand my goals but they trust me in what I choose to do and will always be there cheering me on.

Body Ambition and my coach Janelle Nicolo is my constant reminder that I am part of something bigger than myself. Janelle is such an inspiration and watching her follow her own dreams and create a fitness business empire is so inspiring. I wouldn’t have made it to where I am without the BA girls and coach. I have met so many wonderful people on this team and I cherish those friendships.

Austin is not only my best friend but my rock. He has been with me since the beginning and pushed me along the way. I can remember many times that I have wanted to give up, and he was there to inspire me to keep going. I am so excited that he is not only competing in his first competition but that we will be on this journey together. I am looking forward to sharing the WBFF with him.

Lastly, I want to thank both Mai Tran and Steve Cardillo for welcoming me to Team ProMera and Team Cardillo. Mai, Steve and the entire team have supported me with all the supplementaltional needs I could have ever needed during this prep and I will forever be loyal and appreciative.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I enjoy looking at real estate and looking for home to eventually flip. I also enjoy the outdoors and that includes fishing, 4-wheeling, swimming and shooting guns.

18. What are challenges that you face that may keep you from reaching your fitness goals?
I am a very active person and tend to take on more than I can sometimes handle. I need to make sure that I find balance in everything that I do.
I also work over 60 hours a week and train 2 hours a day, 6 times a week. I also know that competing is expensive and with college loans and bills to pay, I am always nervous that financially reaching my fitness goals will be a challenge.

19. What obstacles have you overcome to be where you are?
I haven’t always taken care of myself the way that I should have. I have put myself in difficult and unhealthy relationships in the past and that was very challenging. I have had to overcome some anxiety, and lack of confidence because of this. I have learned to take control of my life and be who I want to be with peace and confidence. Sometimes I feel like I missed years of my life worry about other people and now have finally learned to be who I am and chase the dreams that I have.

20. Is there anything else you would like to add that you think we’ve missed?
I am really looking forward to competing in WBFF because of the wonderful things I have heard about this organization. I admire the women who compete in this federation and respect each and every one of them. I believe this organization represents strong, motivated and dedicated individuals and I feel blessed to be ready to take the stage alongside them.