Alexa Jaye

Name: Alexa Jaye
Nickname: Alexa
Birth Date: 08/07/1987
Birth Place: New York
Current Residence: New York
Height & Weight: 5’3″ 110 lbs

1. What made you want to compete?
My boyfriend inspired me to compete. He is a bodybuilder and we met in college as “nutrition” students and were both really into working out. He took my training to a whole new level though. He always talked about wanting to compete in a Bodybuilding Competition. Once we graduated he decided to do his first Competition. After seeing how amazing the bikini girls looked I knew I had to do a competition.

2. What do you do to stay inspired?
My clients are my inspiration. I know that they look for me to make sure they are staying on track and if I’m not staying focused myself I feel as though I am letting them down. I research & read tons of magazine about other competitors and know I’m only human and have moments of doubt but I use that to fuel me to push harder & keep me motivated.

3. What shows have you already been in or plan to be in in the future?
Metroland Championships Albany, NY Spring 2011 2nd
INBF Poughkeepsie, NY Fall 2011-Bikini 3rd
NPC Anation Albany, NY Spring 2012-Bikini 3rd
NGA Schenectady, NY Spring 2012-Bikini 2nd
Metroland Championships Albany, NY Spring 2013-Bikini 1st Overall
USBF Schenectady, NY Spring 2013-Bikini 1st & 2nd Overall
Upcoming:
WBFF Boston Summer 2013

4. Who got you started?
My boyfriend & myself. I did a lot of research as far as Diet & Exercise. I am a nutritionist so my background really helps with my lifestyle however competition dieting takes it to a whole new level. I had to do a lot of research and seek the help of professionals along the way. I am always wanting to learn & know more.

5. Who do you look to for help now?
Erin Iannacchino. She is a WBFF Fitness Model Diva Professional & I have worked with her for the past year on Posing & Presentation. I have become a proud “Barbell Beauty”. Erin is amazing and is such an inspiration. She has helped bring a whole new level of confidence in me to the stage & truly exudes what hard work can do.

6. Where do you usually workout?
I workout at my Private Studio in Albany, NY. When I’m feeling unmotivated I will change things up and use a larger facility that is local to me or will get outside and do something fun, fresh & different to spice up my workout.

7. Do you use any suppliments? If so, what ones (brands, names, etc)
I try not to take to many supplements. The supplements I do use regularly are a good quality protein powder (whey isolate) SPECIES ISOLYZE or ABOUT TIME NUTRITION which I help sponsor, a women’s multivitamin (ONE A DAY WOMENS) & Omega-3 fish oil.

8. What are your most noticeable results?
I am always working to better my physique. Every time I compete I am competing with myself to become a better me. I would say the areas that I have noticed the most results are my glutes, legs & abs.

9. Has fitness changed your life? If so, how?
Fitness has always been a huge part of my life, and a passion of mine. It has changed my life because it makes me feel unbelievable and I know I am bettering myself everyday I get in a workout. I couldn’t imagine going through life not being about to workout. I think a lot of us take that for granted.

10. What personal fitness goals have you set for yourself?
My biggest goal fitness wise is to get my PRO CARD and become a WBFF Bikini Diva Model.

11. Describe your diet.
I keep my diet very consistent throughout my competition prep.
Breakfast-Oatmeal with handfull of berries & Egg whites
Midmorning-Fruit & Almonds
Lunch-Salad & Lean Chicken or fish
Midafternoon-Shake or Quest Bar
Dinner-2 cups green veggies with Lean Chicken/Turkey or Bison
My carbs differ based on workout days or how my body is feeling

12. What does your workout schedule look like?
Monday-Legs
Tuesday-Back
Wednesday-Cardio & Abs
Thursday-Shoulders
Friday-PLYO & Glutes
Saturday-Arms
I do cardio 5-6 days a week for 30-60 minutes depending on if I’m in competition season.

13. What do you do for a living?
I am a Certified Fitness Professional and Nutritionist. I work out of a Private Studio in Albany, NY. I have the greatest job in the world and work with the most amazing clients & wouldn’t give that up for anything. I am very lucky to have the job that I have and the ability to compete.

14. What are your personal non-fitness goals?
To live a long happy, healthy, successful life. “Dont Dream it…BE IT”

15. Have you participated in any other sports?
Track & Cheerleading

16. Here you can mention your family/thank you’s.
I would like to thank my amazing parents who have always been my #1 fans & have always been so accommodating & supporting during all of my prep. My clients who I see day in and day out and are so understanding with everything that I do. Most importantly, my boyfriend & best friend Nick. He has been by my side for every show, every emotional moment & every low carb day. I wouldn’t have been able to do this without his patience, guidance & understanding.

17. Do you have any hobbies?
I am a musical theater nerd at heart, so I LOVE to sing. When I came off the theater stage after high school I knew the competition stage was the next stage I had to hit with my passion for fitness!